Sharing Struggles

The other day someone commented on how they had to be the worst mother in the world because no other mother would act like them.  We all love to just put ourselves down and  beat ourselves up as what I imagine is some sort of penance for the things we have done.  I was very embarassed, but I went out on a limb and mentioned something horrible that I had done as a mom recently.  This was in a group setting and in my mind, I was ready for gasps and declarations that they couldn’t believe I had done such a thing.  Instead what I got was understanding and even a thank you for sharing my struggle.  The person that thanked me mentioned that she thought it was very helpful for people to realize they aren’t alone in their struggles.  We are all in the process of being sanctified; we know we are going to sin, but we don’t like to own our sin very much.

Later, my husband and I were talking about our conversation in light of several other circumstances.  It led us to discuss how vital it is for us to encourage and pray for one another instead of wallowing in our cocoon of guilt and trying to hid our sin. He is always telling me that we are all capable of any sin and if we don’t believe that to be true then we need to expect to fall.

The other interesting point he made is that if we are aware of our own sin and are willing to admit our struggles it gives us a lot more compassion for our fellow man.  We want to cast judgement on those who commit what we consider the unpardonable sins and condemn them as hopeless and unworthy.  What we need to remember is “There for but the grace of God go I” and pray for and encourage the fallen one just as we would want them to do for us.

Published in: on October 1, 2009 at 5:40 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechurchmouseletters.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/sharing-struggles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

